So, Lee, my hook-it-up bartender friend and notorious Boston Red Sox fan, scored some tickets to the first game ever at the new Yankee Stadium.
It was an extremely slow game, even boring by my tastes, but it was still exciting be a part of something so historic. Cubs v. Yankees. I thought I was watching an easter egg hunt for a minute but then realized it was just the sCrUBs' bumbling outfielders looking for dandelions on an AstroTurf field.
Pics:
5 comments:
Bo-Sox fan scoring Yankee Tickets???
Also, I heard they were only charging 25 cents for tickets to the first game in the new stadium... 1923 prices, since that was the price to watch a game when they opened their first stadium...
Cool pics, I wish I could have been there!
Cheers!
Did you catch any hell for the STL hat?
We paid 50 bucks a pop for left field tickets. We were just a couple seats back from the field, in prime home run territory. So, there were no 23 cent tickets. Although, there are 5 dollar tickets in the outfield right beside the batters eye. These seats are what they call "limited view seats". Reason being you can'[t see the opposite field. It's insane, but its also one of the only things you can get in nyc for just 5 clams.
About the hat: I had no problems at all with the residents of Yankee Stadium as a St Louis fan. They regarded me as an exotic oddity. I think they respect the Cards because they never have to really play them besides maybe 3 times a year. And rightfully so, as the Cards are the only team in baseball that can look the Yankees in the eye statistically. It helped also that the scrubs were the opposing team because everyone knew I was on their side. There was one incident in a bathroom when a BoSox fan informed me that "the cawds suck"
Yankee fans are loud-mouthed bastards but I think Cardinal Nation is safe.
http://www.crainsnewyork.com/article/20081223/FREE/812239980
... just saying
Well I didn't sit in the bleachers or the grandstand. So there you have it.
Post a Comment